This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Greece

Greece is made up of 14 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Greece. Information on all primary administrative regions in Greece.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Greece alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Greece

There are 14 regions in Greece in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Greece
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Attica Attica1.3,761,810Athens Athens664,046
Ionian Islands Ionian Islands2.212,984Corfu Corfu27,003
South Aegean South Aegean3.302,686Ermoupolis Ermoúpolis11,351
Epirus Epirus4.353,820Ioannina Ioánnina65,574
Crete Crete5.601,131Irakleion Irákleion137,154
Mount Athos Mount Athos6.2,262Karyes Karyes237
East Macedonia and Thrace East Macedonia and Thrace7.611,067Komotini Komotiní45,631
West Macedonia West Macedonia8.301,522Kozani Kozáni36,481
Central Greece Central Greece9.605,329Lamia Lamía52,006
Thessaly Thessaly10.753,888Larisa Lárisa144,651
North Aegean North Aegean11.206,121Mytilini Mytilíni28,322
West Greece West Greece12.740,506Patra Pátra168,034
Central Macedonia Central Macedonia13.1,871,952Thessaloniki Thessaloníki354,290
Peloponnese Peloponnese14.638,942Tripoli Trípoli26,561