This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Greece

Greece is made up of 14 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Greece. Information on all primary administrative regions in Greece.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Greece alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Greece

There are 14 regions in Greece in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Greece
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Attica Attica1.3,761,810Athens Athens664,046
Central Macedonia Central Macedonia2.1,871,952Thessaloniki Thessaloníki354,290
Thessaly Thessaly3.753,888Larisa Lárisa144,651
West Greece West Greece4.740,506Patra Pátra168,034
Peloponnese Peloponnese5.638,942Tripoli Trípoli26,561
East Macedonia and Thrace East Macedonia and Thrace6.611,067Komotini Komotiní45,631
Central Greece Central Greece7.605,329Lamia Lamía52,006
Crete Crete8.601,131Irakleion Irákleion137,154
Epirus Epirus9.353,820Ioannina Ioánnina65,574
South Aegean South Aegean10.302,686Ermoupolis Ermoúpolis11,351
West Macedonia West Macedonia11.301,522Kozani Kozáni36,481
Ionian Islands Ionian Islands12.212,984Corfu Corfu27,003
North Aegean North Aegean13.206,121Mytilini Mytilíni28,322
Mount Athos Mount Athos14.2,262Karyes Karyes237