This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Greece

Greece is made up of 14 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Greece. Information on all primary administrative regions in Greece.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Greece alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Greece

There are 14 regions in Greece in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Greece
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Attica Attica1.3,761,810Athens Athens664,046
Central Greece Central Greece2.605,329Lamia Lamía52,006
Central Macedonia Central Macedonia3.1,871,952Thessaloniki Thessaloníki354,290
Crete Crete4.601,131Irakleion Irákleion137,154
East Macedonia and Thrace East Macedonia and Thrace5.611,067Komotini Komotiní45,631
Epirus Epirus6.353,820Ioannina Ioánnina65,574
Ionian Islands Ionian Islands7.212,984Corfu Corfu27,003
Mount Athos Mount Athos8.2,262Karyes Karyes237
North Aegean North Aegean9.206,121Mytilini Mytilíni28,322
Peloponnese Peloponnese10.638,942Tripoli Trípoli26,561
South Aegean South Aegean11.302,686Ermoupolis Ermoúpolis11,351
Thessaly Thessaly12.753,888Larisa Lárisa144,651
West Greece West Greece13.740,506Patra Pátra168,034
West Macedonia West Macedonia14.301,522Kozani Kozáni36,481